Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Languages of Scandinavia – Seven Sisters of the North - Chicago Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

The Languages of Scandinavia: Seven Sisters of the North

Ruth H. Sanders


Five Germanic languages--Norwegian, Danish, Swedish, Icelandic, and Faroese--along with two Finno-Ugric languages--Finnish and Sami--have lived in neighboring territory in the North for millennia. Though the first five languages belong to a different linguistic family than the second two, their long life together has influenced them all in sometimes surprising ways. This book investigates archaeological, cultural, and genetic evidence from deep history, beginning in the immediate post-Ice Age, to reveal where the languages and their speakers came from. The book's focus is on the crucial inters ... More

Keywords: Icelandic, Faroese, Norwegian, Danish, Swedish, Finnish, Sami

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2017 Print ISBN-13: 9780226493893
Published to Chicago Scholarship Online: May 2018 DOI:10.7208/chicago/9780226493923.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Ruth H. Sanders, author
Miami University of Ohio